Reflections on UOSM2033

This module has not just helped improve my online professional profile greatly, it has also opened my eyes to how being active and involved online can help with networking and ultimately job opportunities.

Before this module, I did not have any form of professional online profile. I had a Facebook account, which was for personal use, but without knowing the content I was posting may have actually hindered my job prospects. I have since taken actions to make sure my personal social media is made private to avoid this. I have now created a LinkedIn account that will help promote me to employers as well as linking me with common connections.

linked-in-legit-picture

My LinkedIn account also has links to all my other social media in order to look more authentic. By becoming more involved with social media I have been able to massively improve my online identity.

reflections-on-_19344082_55cddda53ecd33969b71b2ec8c4102f2fd4e34e2-1

One of the best ways for me to demonstrate how my online profile has improved is through where I am found on a google search. It is important to realise that the algorithm google uses is influenced by your online activity. To get a realistic idea of where my profile can be found I searched my name on a computer with a different I.P. address, which was also unconnected to myself.

google-search-legit

In addition, another way I can demonstrate my online profiles improvements is by comparing my self-test from the beginning of the module and my self-test at the end of the module.

self-test-for-uosm2033-complete

It is clear by the ratings I gave myself both before this module and after that my online profile and confidence have both improved. I am more active online and have also developed key skills such as researching and creating content. Due to the low word counts my blog posts required, I have learnt how to condense vital information and present it clearly. Additionally, I have learnt how to create content through services like PowToon and Piktochart. This poster below demonstrates how my content has improved from my first topic post to my last.

piktochart-on-h_19350004_cb4688ef01d2301e874d2dd63789a8f208c1a4db

In my own life, taking part in this module has shown me that the job market is increasingly moving into the online world. This short PowToon below outlines some of the ways I am improving my online profile as well as certain skills I am learning to give myself an advantage and stand out to employers.

To conclude, my online profile has increased dramatically since beginning this module. I have a greater confidence when using certain online tools and this has allowed me to self-promote myself. In addition to this, my own career goals have changed by aiming my sights towards the online world. Without a doubt, this module has allowed me to see an online world I was ignorant to and I have learnt vital skills that will help me gain employment after university. I have enjoyed taking part in this module and look forward to seeing everyone else’s reflections as well as improving my online skills.

Word Count: 500

LinkedIn Account: http://www.linkedin.com/in/tommackenzie20

Piktochart Infographic: https://magic.piktochart.com/output/19344082-reflections-on-uosm-social-media

Piktochart Poster: https://magic.piktochart.com/output/19350004-piktochart-on-how-content-has-developed

Online Presentation Available on:

Powtoon: https://www.powtoon.com/online-presentation/bMUZd2m67bl/reflections-on-module-steps/?mode=movie

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nRbo-0jNb4

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

